Affection Album Lisa Stansfield R&B Music


Affection Album is by Lisa Stansfield, the British R&B singer-songwriter. Her debut solo album, a mixture of soul and R&B, was released on the 21st of November 1989 under the record label Arista Records.
All thirteen songs featured were co-written by Lisa Stansfield, Ian Devaney and Andy Morris, who also produced the album except for one song, ” This Is the Right Time “, which was the work of English electronic music duo Coldcut.
The Affection album received positive reviews in the music press. Alex Henderson, writing for AllMusic wrote that ” Though she didn’t shy away from hip-hop and house-music elements, Affection leaves no doubt where the British singer’s heart lies — sleek yet gritty ’70s R&B. ” In his review for Entertainment Weekly, Greg Sandow thought that Lisa Stansfield ” sounds both sultry and sincere, ” although he felt that Some of the songs were ” chunky “.
The album, which has notched up worldwide sales of over five million copies, has been certified 3x Platinum in the United Kingdom by the British Phonographic Industry ( BPI ) for sales of over 900,000. It has been certified Platinum in Canada, Germany, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland and the United States, where sales have reached one million copies. In Australia, New Zealand, Austria, Finland and France, the album has been certified Gold.
The lead single, ” This Is the Right Time “, was released on the 31st of July 1989. The single, which has a 70s disco feel, was written by Lisa Stansfield, Ian Devaney and Andy Morris, with production by Coldcut. It became a successful release for the singer. In the United States, the single peaked at number twenty-one on the 6th of October 1990 and spent thirteen weeks on the Billboard Hot 100. Other Billboard Chart positions were one on the Dance Club Songs and thirteen on the Hot R&B/Hip-Hop Songs.
In the United Kingdom, ” This Is the Right Time ” entered the UK Singles Chart on the 12th of August 1989 and peaked at number thirteen. It spent three weeks in the Top Twenty and eight weeks in the Top 100. Elsewhere, the single made the Top Twenty in Austria, Germany and Canada.
The Affection album became a commercial success for Lisa Stansfield. In the United States, the album peaked at number nine on the 12th of May 1990, it spent thirty-nine weeks on the Billboard 200. It also reached number five on the Top R&B/Hip-Hop Albums Chart.
In the United Kingdom, it entered the UK Albums Chart on the 2nd of December 1989 and reached number two, spending sixteen weeks in the Top Ten and thirty-two weeks on the Top 100.
The album also peaked at number two in Germany, Sweden, Italy and Switzerland. In Austria, Lisa Stansfield gained a Number One on the Ö3 Austria Chart. The Affection album also made it into the Top Ten in Australia, New Zealand, Canada, Holland, Finland and Norway.


About Lisa Stansfield

Lisa Jane Stansfield was born on the 11th of April 1966 in Manchester, England. At an early age, Lisa Stansfield was introduced to soul music, admitting that it was Marion, her mother, playing Diana Ross and the Supremes that influenced her musical direction. She notes that Barry White and Marvin Gaye are idols of hers.
Her career started in 1980 by winning Search for a Star, a singing competition that aired on British TV network ITV between 1980 and 1984. In 1984, Lisa Stansfield along with Ian Devaney and Andy Morris formed a group called ,Blue Zone ( known as Blue Zone UK in the US due to a naming dispute ), who released one album and six singles before deciding to concentrate on a solo career for the singer.
Her debut solo album provided a career breakthrough for the singer and is at the time of writing her best-seller. To date, Lisa Stansfield’s Album releases are eight studio, four compilations, five video, one soundtrack and three Remix albums. She as also released one Extended Play, forty-four singles and thirty-three music videos.
As a multi-award-winning recording artist, Lisa Stansfield has won many awards including one ASCAP ( American Society of Composers, Authors, and Publishers ), one Billboard Music Video, three Brit, two Ivor Novello, one Silver Clef and one World Music Award. Lisa Stansfield continues to record and tour.

Affection Album Track Listing:

1. This Is the Right Time
2. Mighty Love
3. Sincerity
4. The Love in Me
5. All Around the World
6. What Did I Do to You? (7′ Version)
7. Live Together
8. You Can’t Deny It (US Version)
9. Poison
10. When Are You Coming Back?
11. Affection
12. Wake Up Baby
13. The Way You Want It
14. People Hold On (Single Mix) (Bonus Track)
15. My Apple Heart (Bonus Track)
16. Lay Me Down (Bonus Track)
17. Something’s Happenin’

Visit R&B Music Category for more Artists

RandB affection albumaffection album lisa stansfieldlisa stansfieldrandbrandb music

Related Post

Permalink to Emotions Album Mariah Carey R&B Music
Emotions Album Mariah Carey R&B Music
Emotions Album is by Mariah Carey, the American singer
Permalink to It’s About Time Album Christina Milian R&B Music
It’s About Time Album Christina Milian R&B Music
It’s About Time Album is by Christina Milian, the

Leave a reply