All the Young Dudes Mott the Hoople Glam Rock Music


All the Young Dudes Album is by Mott the Hoople, who was an English rock band. The album was released on the 8th of September 1972 by record labels CBS in the United Kingdom and Columbia in the United States.
The album helped to turn around the fortunes for the group and push them to the forefront of the Glam Rock explosion in the UK.
Before signing with CBS Records, Mott the Hoople had spent three years with Island Records in the United Kingdom, a time that would later provide speculation over ownership of the rights.
Some have claimed that part or the whole album was recorded under the original record label. If the claim turns out to have a foundation, then Island Records would potentially have ownership of the rights to the group’s recordings.
In 2006, there was a re-release and remastered version of the album. The 2006 album added to the speculation further, when one of the tracks added as a bonus, ” Black Scorpio “, had production co-credit attributed to Muff Winwood, who was an Island Records staff producer at the time.
The co-credit for production suggested that the work, an early version of ” Momma’s Little Jewel “, had begun while at Island.
In 2003, All the Young Dudes ranked number 491 on the list of The 500 Greatest Albums of All Time published by Rolling Stone magazine. Nine years later, a revised list was released by the magazine with the album ranking at number 484.
The title track, ” All the Young Dudes “, released on the 28th of July 1972 was written and produced by David Bowie. It is widely acknowledged by critics and fans alike as one of the Glam Rock anthems of the era.
The lyrics name-check T. Rex and refers to The Beatles and The Rolling Stones. Although not initially intended as a Glam anthem, the song which focuses on youth suicide has become one of the most famous of the 70s.
The single proved to be a commercial success for the group. In the United States, ” All the Young Dudes ” peaked at number thirty-seven on the Billboard Hot 100, spending eleven weeks on the chart there.
In the United Kingdom, it entered the UK Singles Chart on the 12th August 1972 and peaked at number three. In Ireland, the single peaked at number four on the Irish Singles Chart.
The All the Young Dudes album was also a commercial success for Mott the Hoople. In the United States, it reached a peak of number eighty-nine on the Billboard 200.
In the United Kingdom, the album peaked at number twenty-one, spending a month in the Top 100.


About Mott the Hoople

Mott, the Hoople, was formed in 1966 under the name Doc Thomas Group. The name Mott the Hoople was chosen from the title of a 1966 novel about misfit Norman Mott by Willard Manus, an American novelist and playwright based in Los Angeles.
The line-up consisted of Ian Hunter, Mick Ralphs, Peter Overend Watts, Terence Dale ‘Buffin’ Griffin and Verden ‘Phally’ Allen.
Their debut album, which shared the name of the band, was released on the 22nd of November 1969 in the United Kingdom and 1970 in the United States.
The album peaked at number 185 on the Billboard 200 and sixty-six in the UK.
To date, Mott the Hoople’s Album releases are seven studio, nine live albums, twelve Compilations. They also released fifteen singles.

All the Young Dudes Track Listing:

1. Sweet Jane
2. Momma’s Little Jewel
3. All the Young Dudes
4. Sucker
5. Jerkin’ Crocus ( Album Version )
6. One of the Boys
7. Soft Ground ( Album Version )
8. Ready for Love / After Lights
9. Sea Diver ( Album Version )


Visit Glam Rock Music Category for more Artists

Glam Rock 70s70s musicall the young dudesall the young dudes mott the hoopleglam rockmott the hooplerockrock music

Related Post

Permalink to The Slider Album T.Rex Glam Rock
The Slider Album T.Rex Glam Rock
The Slider Album is by T.Rex, who was an
Permalink to Electric Warrior Album T.Rex Glam Rock
Electric Warrior Album T.Rex Glam Rock
Electric Warrior Album is by T.Rex, the English rock
Permalink to Rock On Album David Essex Glam Rock Music
Rock On Album David Essex Glam Rock Music
Rock On Album is by David Essex, the English

Leave a reply