Bright Lights Album Showaddywaddy Rock and Roll Music


Bright Lights Album is by Showaddywaddy, the British rock ‘ n ‘ roll revival group.
The album was released via LP and Cassette on the 1st of December 1980 under the Arista Records label, now part of Sony Music Entertainment.
Produced by the band, the album features twelve tracks made up of five original songs and seven covers.
Three singles were released in 1980, ” Always & Ever “, ” Why Do Lovers Break Each Other’s Hearts ” and ” Blue Moon”, with the latter two peaking at numbers twenty-two and thirty-two respectively.
The fourth single released from the album in 1981, ” Doo Wah Diddy “, was a cover of the song originally recorded by the American band, The Exciters, which is better known as a cover by the British band, Manfred Mann. Showaddywaddy’s version failed to chart in the UK.
Not long after Bright Lights album’s release, Showaddywaddy featured on their own television special for the BBC called Showaddywaddyshow, they used the special to showcase three songs from the album, ” Teen Canteen”, ” It’s Only Make Believe ” and ” Then Came You “. The latter is still popular with fans today.
The most popular single, ” Why Do Lovers Break Each Others Hearts ” was released on the 12th of September 1980.
Written by Phil Spector, Ellie Greenwich and Tony Powers, it was first recorded by American vocal group, Bob B. Soxx and the Blue Jeans.
Their version features the vocals of Darlene Love. Although she scored a US chart-topping single in 1962 with ” He’s a Rebel “, she is best known for ” Christmas ( Baby Please Come Home ) “.
Showaddywaddy’s cover version entered the UK Singles Chart on the 27th September 1980 and reached number twenty-two. It spent six weeks in the Top Forty and ten weeks in the Top 100.
It also reached number sixteen in the Netherlands and twenty-two in Belgium ( Wallonia ).
The Bright Lights album became commercially successful for Showaddywaddy. In the United Kingdom, the album entered the UK Albums Chart on the 20th of December 1980 and peaked at number thirty-three.
It spent four weeks in the Top forty and eight weeks in the Top 100.

buy now button for amazon

This Album Is Also Available On iTunes

About Showaddywaddy

Showaddywaddy is a rock ‘n’ roll revival group. The group formed in 1973 in Leicester, a city in the county of Leicestershire, England.
Showaddywaddy formed by merging two bands, Choise, who wrote their own material and the Golden Hammers, who performed covers.
As a result of the merger, they had two vocalists, two drummers, two guitarists along with two bassists.
Both bands performed regular gigs at the Fosseway, a pub in Leicester. They soon realised their musical tastes were the same. After spending time together, they decided to join the two separate entities, resulting in the eight-member group, Showaddywaddy.
The original line-up of the 1970s and 80s consisted of Dave Bartram, Trevor Oakes, Al James and Romeo Challenger, Buddy Gask, Russ Field, Rod Deas and Malcolm Allured.
The group’s style is based on the British Teddy Boy subculture of the 1950s. The Teddy Boy fashion was itself based around a look of well-heeled men of the English Edwardian period ( reign of King Edward VII from 1901 to 1910 ).
Known as Dandies, they would pay particular attention to being seen in the smartest, most fashionable, clothes of the day.
Showaddywaddy’s look consists of colourful Drape jackets, Drainpipe trousers and Crepe shoes, also known as Brothel Creepers.
The look was also adopted by other groups of the 1970s glam rock era. Mud is another, who is best known for their hit single ” Tiger Feet ” and their 1974 UK Christmas chart-topper ” Lonely This Christmas “.
Showaddywaddy were invited to enter the British television talent show, New Faces. First aired on the ITV Television network in May 1973, the show ran until 1988.
The group were runners-up in 1973 All Winners Final, losing out by just seven points to the winner, vocalist Tom Waite.
After the result, record companies, including Polydor, offered them record contracts. However, they already had a deal with Bell Records, who had the likes of the Bay City Rollers and Gary Glitter in their stable of artists.
Showaddywaddy’s first single, ” Hey Rock And Roll ” was released on the19th April 1974. The single entered the UK Singles Chart on the 18th of May1974 and peaked at number two. It spent six weeks in the Top Ten and fourteen weeks in the Top 100.
More singles entered the Top Ten with their cover of ” Under the Moon of Love ” topping the chart in November 1976 for three weeks.
To date, the group have spent 209 weeks on the UK Singles Chart.
Their debut album, Showaddywaddy was released on the 8th of November 1974. Featuring nine original songs and three covers, it entered the UK Albums Chart on the 7th of December 1974.
The album peaked at number nine. It spent two weeks in the Top Ten and nineteen weeks in the Top 100.
Three more albums made the Top Ten in the United Kingdom with their Greatest Hits ( 1976-1978 ) topping the chart for two weeks.
The group have made close to three hundred television appearances, including Showaddywaddyshow, a TV special for the BBC which also featured Kiki Dee.
The show was recorded at the Pebble Mill studios in Birmingham, England. They performed several songs live including ” Why Do Lovers Break Each Other’s Hearts? “, ” Three Steps To Heaven ” and ” Under the Moon of Love “, their only UK Number One.
Many of the original members have been replaced. Romeo Challenger, the original drummer, has been joined by Rob Hewins, Dean Loach, Andy Pelos, Ray Hatfield and Billy Norman. Former lead singer, Dave Bartram continues as the band’s manager.
Showaddywaddy continues to tour throughout the United Kingdom and Europe.
To date, Showaddywaddy’s Album releases are fifteen studio and seven Compilations. They have also released thirty-two singles.

Bright Lights Album Track Listing:

  1. Why Do Lovers Break Each Other’s Hearts
  2. Only Love
  3. Blue Moon
  4. I’ll Never Get Over You
  5. Wonderful Dream
  6. Doo Wah Diddy
  7. I Wanna Take You Home
  8. Cool Cool Cat
  9. Then Came You
  10. Teen Canteen
  11. It’s Only Make Believe
  12. Always & Ever

Visit Rock ‘ N ‘ Roll Music Category for more Artists

Rock and Roll 80s80s musicbright lights albumbright lights album showaddywaddyrock and rollshowaddywaddy

Related Post

Permalink to The Best Of Buddy Holly Album Buddy Holly Rock and Roll
The Best Of Buddy Holly Album Buddy Holly Rock and Roll
The Best Of Buddy Holly Album: 20th Century Masters

Leave a reply