Face Value Album Phil Collins Rock Music


Face Value Album is by Phil Collins, the English singer, songwriter and drummer.
His first solo studio album was released on the 9th of February 1981 ( UK ), and March 1981 ( US ) under the record labels Virgin in the United Kingdom and Atlantic Internationally.
Phil Collins recorded the Face Value album between June 1980 and January 1981 at The Town House in London, the Old Croft in Shalford, Surrey, England and The Village Recorder in Los Angeles, California, United States.
The album, a mixture of soft rock and R&B, was produced by Phil Collins and Hugh Padgham, the 4x Grammy Award-winning English record producer and audio engineer. He has worked with various recording artists including the Bee Gees, Clannad, Kate Bush, David Bowie, The Human League, Hall & Oates, Mansun, Paul McCartney, Sting and Brian Wilson of the Beach Boys.
Phil Collins enlisted help for the recording from the Phenix Horns ( the main horn section for Earth, Wind & Fire ), Alphonso Johnson, the American Jazz bassist and English rock and blues guitarist, Eric Clapton.
The Face Value album was written during a break with the English rock band Genesis and when Phil Collins was experiencing some turmoil in his private life. The songs featured, a mixture of mood ballads and uptempo soulful tracks, reflect his feelings at that time.
The album received positive reviews from the music press upon release. In a retrospective review, Tim Sendra, writing for AllMusic, awarded it five stars. He commented that it ” stands as his masterpiece and one of the finest moments of the ’80s musical landscape. ” In his review for Rollingstone magazine ( dated the 20th of August 1981 ) Steve Pond noted the ” fluid vocal tone he’s lately developed in Genesis ” and commented that Phil Collins ignored ” the group’s high-blown conceits in favour of some basic pop and R&B. “
The Face Value album has become a critical and commercially successful release for Phil Collins. It has notched up sales of over five million copies in the United States and over 1.5 million copies in the United Kingdom.
The album has been certified Diamond in Canada, 5x Platinum in the US and UK, 2x Platinum in the Netherlands, France and Switzerland.
In Argentina and Austria, it has been awarded Platinum with 4x Platinum in Australia. In Germany, the album has been certified 7x Gold for sales of 1,750,000.
The lead single, ” In the Air Tonight “, was released on the 5th of January 1981. The single, one of his best-known songs, has endured speculation as to what the lyrics are about.
Some still believe it is about a drowning incident. It’s alleged that a person was drowning with another person close enough to help but didn’t. Phil Collins was too far away to save the victim and had to watch helplessly. The urban legend, which started around the time of the song’s release, is still denied by the singer that the incident took place and became the inspiration for the song.
In the United States, ” In the Air Tonight ” peaked at number nineteen on the 15th of August 1981 and spent eight weeks on the Billboard Hot 100.
In the United Kingdom, the single entered the UK Singles Chart on the 17th of January 1981 and peaked at number two. It spent five weeks in the Top Ten and thirty-one weeks in the Top 100.
The single topped the charts in Austria, Germany, Sweden and Switzerland. In Australia, New Zealand, Belgium ( Flanders ), Norway, Spain, Ireland and Canada it peaked inside the Top Ten.
The Face Value album became a commercial success. In the United States, the album peaked at number seven on the 4th of July 1981 and spent 164 weeks on the Billboard 200.
In the United Kingdom, the album entered the UK Albums Chart on the 21st of February 1981 at Number One, a position it held for three weeks. It spent fifteen weeks in the Top Ten and 275 weeks in the Top 100.
Phil Collins also scored a Number One in Canada and Sweden. In Australia, Germany and Switzerland it peaked at number two, with a number four in New Zealand, two in Austria, Germany, Switzerland and in Norway and Spain it peaked at number five and seven respectively.

buy now button for amazon

This Album Is Also Available On iTunes

About Phil Collins

Philip David Charles Collins was born on the 30th of January 1951 in Chiswick, Middlesex, England. Although he started out on the path to acting when he was a child ( playing the Artful Dodger in the London stage production of Oliver!, the musical adaptation of Oliver Twist, the Charles Dickens novel ), his real interest was music.
After playing in various bands, he joined Genesis, the English rock band. Formed in 1967, they sold an estimated 100 to 150 million records worldwide.
He took the role as a drummer in August 1970 after a successful audition. Five years later, Phil Collins became the lead vocalist.
In March 1996, he left Genesis to concentrate more on a solo career. Outside of music, Phil Collins is a model railway enthusiast and has an interest in the 1836 Battle of the Alamo, in the US state of Texas.
In 2012, a book was published, written by the singer, called The Alamo and Beyond: A Collector’s Journey, which showed his extensive knowledge on the subject.
An animal lover, Phil Collins supports animal rights, he also has stated he supports the People for the Ethical Treatment of Animals ( PETA ). In 2005, PETA ran a campaign against the American fast-food chain Kentucky Fried Chicken, he donated a set of drumsticks which he autographed.
To date, Phil Collins’ ( solo ) Album releases are eight studio, one live album, three compilations, two soundtracks, two box sets, sixteen video albums and one remix. He has also released one Extended Play, forty-five singles and thirty-eight videos.
As a multi-award-winning recording artist, Phil Collins has won many awards including eight Grammys, three American Music, six Brit, four Billboard Music, six Ivor Novello, one MTV Video Music, one Academy and two Golden Globe awards.

Face Value Album Track Listing:

1. In the Air Tonight
2. This Must Be Love
3. Behind the Lines
4. The Roof Is Leaking
5. Droned
6. Hand in Hand
7. I Missed Again
8. You Know What I Mean
9. Thunder and Lightning
10. I’m Not Moving
11. If Leaving Me Is Easy
12. Tomorrow Never Knows
13. Over the Rainbow ( unlisted track, except on cassette release WEA 1981 )

Visit Rock Music Category for more Artists

Soft Rock face value albumface value album phil collinsphil collinsrockrock music

Related Post

Permalink to Bon Jovi Album Bon Jovi Rock Music
Bon Jovi Album Bon Jovi Rock Music
Bon Jovi Album is by Bon Jovi, the American
Permalink to White on Blonde Album Texas Rock Music
White on Blonde Album Texas Rock Music
White on Blonde Album is by Texas, the Scottish

Leave a reply