Introspective Album Pet Shop Boys Electronic Music


Introspective Album is by the Pet Shop Boys, the English electronic pop duo. It was released under the Parlophone record label on the 10th of October 1988 as the duo’s third studio album.
The Introspective album was produced by the Pet Shop Boys, Trevor Horn, David Jacob, Stephen Lipson, Lewis A. Martineé and Julian Mendelsohn.
The album, with a running time of 47.23 minutes, is a mixture of Synth-pop, dance-pop and disco. It features six extended dance remixes that range from six to over nine minutes in length with the Pet Shop Boys using real orchestras in the song’s compositions.
Neil Tennant and Chris Lowe wrote four of the six tracks, the other two songs featured are cover versions of ” Always on My Mind “, which was written by Johnny Christopher, Mark James and Wayne Carson and first recorded by B.J. Thomas in 1969, the song was later covered by Brenda Lee and most notably by Elvis Presley in 1972. The other cover from the Pet Shop Boys album was ” It’s Alright “, with lyrics written by Paris Brightledge and music by Marshall Jefferson and Sterling Void.
The Introspective album has received positive reviews in the music press. Retrospectively reviewing the record, Stephen Thomas Erlewine of AllMusic awarded four out of five stars and wrote ” Melodically, the essential song structures were as strong and multi-layered as the previous album ( Actually ), yet that was hard to hear beneath the varying rhythmic textures that composed the bulk of each track. ” Writing for rateyourmusic, member FlintGF wrote on the 24th of September ” regardless of its falls Introspective is still pure pop brilliance. The long songs give a feeling of an endless pop party where everything feels good. “
The Introspective album has been certified 2x Platinum by the British Phonographic Industry ( BPI ) in the United Kingdom and Platinum in Canada and Spain. In the United States, Germany, Sweden and Switzerland, the album has been certified Gold for sales of 500,000, 250,000, 50,000 and 25,000 respectively.
The lead single, ” Domino Dancing “, was released on the 12th of September 1988. The Latin pop-inspired single was produced by Lewis A. Martin√©e, the Miami based producer, songwriter and disc jockey.
Along with the Pet Shop Boys he has worked with Ricky Martin, Enrique Iglesias, Celine Dion, Jermaine Jackson and Debbie Gibson.
A successful release for the Pet Shop Boys, ” Domino Dancing ” peaked at number eighteen on the Billboard Hot 100 in the United States.
In the United Kingdom, the single entered the UK Singles Chart on the 24th of September 1988 and reached number seven. It spent three weeks in the Top Ten and eleven weeks in the Top 100.
The single topped the charts in both Finland and Spain and peaked inside the Top Ten in the Netherlands, Belgium, Germany, Ireland, Italy, Norway, Sweden and Switzerland.
The Introspective album became a commercial success for the Synth-pop duo. In the United States, the album peaked at number thirty-four on the 3rd of December 1988 and spent twenty-two weeks on the Billboard 200.
In the United Kingdom, it entered the UK Albums Chart on the 22nd of October 1988 and made it to number two. It spent five weeks in the Top Ten and forty weeks in the Top 100.
Other countries album chart positions were forty-four in Australia, New Zealand fifteen, Austria eight, Canada sixty-eight, Germany three, Japan seven, Norway fourteen, Spain three, Sweden five and Spain two. The album topped the chart in Finland.

buy now button for amazon

About the Pet Shop Boys

Pet Shop Boys are an English electronic pop duo made up of Neil Tennant and Chris Lowe. They formed in London in 1981 after meeting in an electronics shop.
The Guinness Book of Records has listed the Pet Shop Boys as the most successful duo in UK music history.
Their debut album, Please, released on the 24th of March 1986, notched up worldwide sales around three million copies. It reached number three in both the United Kingdom and Canada with a peak of number seven in the United States.
To date, the Pet Shop Boys album releases are thirteen studio, eight Compilations, fourteen videos, four remix and two live albums. They have also released one Extended Play, fifty-five singles and forty-seven music videos.
As multi-award-winning recording artists, the Pet Shop Boys have won many awards including three Brits, two Ivor Novello’s, one MTV Europe Music, one Music Week, one NME, two Q and one World Music Award. They have also been nominated for eight Grammy Awards.

Introspective Album Track Listing:

1. Left to My Own Devices
2. I Want a Dog
3. Domino Dancing
4. I’m Not Scared
5. Always on My Mind/In My House
6. It’s Alright

Visit Electronic Music Category for more Artists

Electronic 80s80s musicelectronic musicintrospective albumintrospective album pet shop boyspet shop boyssynthpop

Related Post

Permalink to Stories Album Avicii Electronic Music
Stories Album Avicii Electronic Music
Stories Album is by Avicii, who was a Swedish
Permalink to Get Ready Album 2 Unlimited Electronic Music
Get Ready Album 2 Unlimited Electronic Music
Get Ready Album is by 2 Unlimited, the Dutch
Permalink to Play Album Moby Electronic Music
Play Album Moby Electronic Music
Play Album is by Moby, the American electronic musician,
Permalink to No Limits Album 2 Unlimited Electronic Music
No Limits Album 2 Unlimited Electronic Music
No Limits Album is by 2 Unlimited, the Dutch

Leave a reply