Moving Album Peter, Paul and Mary Folk Music

Moving Album is by Peter, Paul and Mary, the American folk music trio.
Recorded in 1962 and released on the 15th of January 1963, it was their second after the successful 1962 debut self-titled album, which reached the top of the Billboard 200 in the United States.
The album features a variety of folk music tracks including the lead single, ” Big Boat “, which only just charted in the United States at number ninety-three on the Billboard Hot 100 staying on the chart for two weeks.
Another song ” Settle Down ( Goin’ Down That Highway ) “, the second single, was slightly more successful with a peak of number fifty-six on the Hot 100 during a six-week spell on the chart.
The third single released, ” Puff, the Magic Dragon “, is by far the most recognisable and famous by Peter, Paul and Mary. The co-writing credits are attributed to Leonard Lipton and Peter Yarrow.
The song, based on a 1959 poem by Leonard and adapted by Peter, was released in January 1963. Many people believe that the lyrics for ” Puff, the Magic Dragon ” are about drugs, something that the trio have denied over the years. Lyrically it is about a little boy’s friendship with a dragon and his sadness when the dragon no longer appears.
In the United States, the song peaked at number two on the Billboard Hot 100 for a week. It also and spent two weeks at the top the Billboard Adult Contemporary Chart in May 1963. It remained on the US Best Sellers for fourteen weeks. The single has sold over one million copies.
The Moving album was a commercial success for Peter, Paul and Mary. In the United States, the album reached number four on the Billboard 200, spending sixty-nine weeks on the chart there.


About Peter, Paul and Mary

Peter, Paul and Mary were an American folk group. Formed in 1961 in New York City, they became a regular fixture during folk music revival years of the 60s.
The trio consisted of Peter Yarrow, Noel Paul Stookey and Mary Travers. Their repertoire not only included songs written by members Peter Yarrow and Noel Paul Stookey, but they also recorded covers of works by other folk musicians including Bob Dylan.
Peter, Paul and Mary are renowned for singing children’s songs. During the latter part of the 60s, their music was becoming unfashionable. The trio went their separate ways in 1970 to pursue solo careers.
In 2009, Peter, Paul and Mary were awarded The Songwriters Hall Of Fame’s Lifetime Achievement Award, that same year Mary Travers died from complications resulting from her treatment of leukaemia, she was 72.
To date, Peter, Paul and Mary’s Album releases are nineteen studio, eight live albums and eight Compilations. They also released twenty-six singles and one Extended Play.
As award-winning recording artist’s, the trio won five Grammys and had been awarded eight Gold and five Platinum discs.

Moving Track Listing:

1. Settle Down ( Goin’ Down That Highway )
2. Gone The Rainbow
3. Flora
4. Pretty Mary
5. Puff, The Magic Dragon
6. This Land Is Your Land
7. Man Come Into Egypt
8. Old Coat
9. Tiny Sparrow
10. Big Boat
11. Morning Train
12. A’Soalin

Visit Folk Music Category for more Artists

Folk folkfolk musicmovingmoving peter paul and marypeter paul and mary

Related Post

Permalink to Whispering Tides Album Kate Dowman Folk Music
Whispering Tides Album Kate Dowman Folk Music
Whispering Tides Album is by Kate Dowman, the Celtic
Permalink to Don’t Go Drinking With Hobbits Album Marc Gunn Folk Music
Don’t Go Drinking With Hobbits Album Marc Gunn Folk Music
Don’t Go Drinking With Hobbits album is by Marc

Leave a reply