Non-Stop Erotic Cabaret Album Soft Cell New Wave Music

Non-Stop Erotic Cabaret Album is by Soft Cell, the English synthpop duo.
Their debut album was released on the 27th of November 1981 under the record label Some Bizzare Records.
The Non-Stop Erotic Cabaret album, recorded in London, was a low budget affair. Almost the entire album was supposedly recorded using a ReVox tape recorder and various borrowed equipment including a drum machine on loan from Kit Hain, the English singer-songwriter and co-founder of the Marshall Hain band, who are best known for their massive 1978 hit ” Dancing in the City “.
The album’s theme was built around the night-world of hedonism, a controversial concept at the time. The single ” Sex Dwarf ” caused the most controversy. A mix mash of bondage, blood and transvestites it was condemned as being obscene. In an interview with the British newspaper The Daily Telegraph, lead vocalist Marc Almond recalled the accompanying video ” Look at the video now, and it’s more embarrassing than anything else, kind of purile. ” Adding ” I am writhing around in a jockstrap covered in maggots. ”
The best-known single from the album is ” Tainted Love “. It was released on the 7th of July in the United Kingdom 1981 and the 16th of January 1982 in the United States.
The single reached number eight on the Billboard Hot 100 in the United States, spending forty-three weeks on the chart there.
In the United Kingdom, ” Tainted Love ” entered the UK Singles Chart on the 1st of August 1981 at the top of the chart. It spent two weeks at Number One, nine weeks in the Top Twenty and thirty weeks in the Top 100.
The single also topped the charts in Australia, Belgium ( Flanders ), Canada, Germany and South Africa.
Despite the controversial nature of the album, it became a successful release both critically and commercially for Soft Cell. In the United States, it peaked at number twenty-two on the Billboard 200 and spent forty-one weeks on the chart there.
In the United Kingdom, the Non-Stop Erotic Cabaret album entered the UK Albums Chart on the 5th of December 1981 and peaked at number five. It spent seventeen weeks in the Top Twenty and a total of forty-six weeks on the chart there.
Elsewhere the album made it to number thirty-four in Australia, two in Canada, seven in New Zealand and twenty-five in Sweden.


About Soft Cell

Soft Cell is an English synthpop duo consisting of Marc Almond and David Ball. After meeting at Leeds Polytechnic, the duo recorded their first EP called Mutant Moments after borrowing £2,000 from the mother of Dave Ball.
Made using a simple 2-track recorder, they pressed 2,000 vinyl copies and released the EP independently. Their live shows and EP became of interest with record labels like Mute and Some Bizzare Records.
Their music, which was influenced by David Bowie, Marc Bolan and Siouxsie Sioux, became popular during the 1980s. During that time they released four albums before they split in 1984.
Soft Cell reunited in 2001 for a series of live concerts and on the 8th of October 2002 they released an album of new material called Cruelty Without Beauty, which peaked at 116 on the UK Albums Chart. In 2018, Soft Cell reunited to play a final farewell concert.
Both Marc Almond and David Ball went on to have successful solo careers. To date, Soft Cell’s Album releases are five studio, three live albums, fifteen compilations and two video albums. They also released two Extended Plays and nineteen singles.

Non-Stop Erotic Cabaret Album Track Listing:

1. Frustration
2. Tainted Love
3. Seedy Films
4. Youth
5. Sex Dwarf
6. Entertain Me
7. Chips on My Shoulder
8. Bedsitter
9. Secret Life
10. Say Hello, Wave Goodbye

Visit New Wave Music Category for more Artists

New Wave 80s80s musicnew wavenew wave musicnon stop erotic cabaretnon stop erotic cabaret album soft cellsoft cell

Related Post

Permalink to Kings of the Wild Frontier Album Adam and the Ants
Kings of the Wild Frontier Album Adam and the Ants
Kings of the Wild Frontier Album is by Adam
Permalink to Prince Charming Album Adam and the Ants New Wave Music
Prince Charming Album Adam and the Ants New Wave Music
Prince Charming Album is by Adam and the Ants,

Leave a reply