Scorpion Album Drake Pop Music


Scorpion Album is by Drake, the Canadian rapper. Drake’s fifth studio album was released on the 29th of June 2018 under the record labels Young Money Entertainment, Cash Money Records and Republic Records.
He began recording the album in 2017 using various studios including Studio 5020 in Miami, Florida, NightBird recording studios in West Hollywood and Yolo Estate, his property in Hidden Hills California.
On the 16th of April, Drake announced the album to his Instagram followers and on the 14th of June 2018 the date of the release. The double album format which is made up of one side of the rap-oriented material and another R&B-oriented material was confirmed two days before release.
The Scorpion album features guest appearances from rappers Jay-Z and Ty Dolla Sign. Additionally, it has posthumous appearances from Michael Jackson and Static Major, who was a Grammy Award-winning American recording artist, producer and a member of the R&B trio Playa. Other artists featured included James Fauntleroy, PartyNextDoor, Nicki Minaj, Future and Nai Palm.
The album was met with mostly lukewarm reviews in the music press. Jonny Coleman writing in The Hollywood Reporter said ” Drake’s exhausting, uneven double rap/RnB record finds the artist trying to be all things to all people. ” Others praised the overall production.
Despite the mixed reception from critics, the album has already gained a Platinum certificate from the Recording Industry Association of America ( RIAA ).
As well as digital sales, it has had a successful run on music streaming. On the first day of release on Spotify, it broke the one-day worldwide record for album streams with over 132 million.
On Apple Music, the Scorpion album also smashed their single-day record with streams of 170 million, beating his record for his commercial mixtape, More Life, which had 89.9 million streams.
The lead single, ” God’s Plan “, was released on the 19th of January 2018. The song, which broke First-day streaming records on Spotify and Apple Music, contains elements of pop, pop-rap and trap.
A successful single commercially, it topped the Billboard Hot 100 in the US and had been certified 8x Platinum there. It also topped the UK Singles Chart, spending nine weeks at the top and has been certified 2x Platinum by the British Phonographic Industry ( BPI ).
” God’s Plan ” also went to the top of the charts in Australia, New Zealand, Canada, Denmark, Germany, Greece, Ireland, Italy, Netherlands, Norway, Portugal and Sweden.
The Scorpion album has been a chart success for Drake. In the United States the album has topped the Billboard 200 and to date has spent for weeks at the top. Other Billboard Chart positions are Number One on the Top R&B/Hip-Hop Albums Chart.
In the United Kingdom, the album entered the UK Albums chart on the 12th of July 2018 at Number One, to date it has spent three weeks on the chart there. UK sales are 64,000 album-equivalent units ( 1 Album = 10 downloads or 1500 song streams ). It is Drake’s second chart-topping album in the country.
The Scorpion album has also reached the top spot in Australia, New Zealand, Canada, Denmark, Holland, Finland, Sweden, Switzerland and Ireland.

buy now button for amazon

About Drake

Aubrey Drake Graham was born on the 24th of October 1986 in Toronto, the capital city of Ontario, Canada.
He is a rapper, singer, songwriter, record producer, actor and businessman. His acting career started on Degrassi: The Next Generation. He gained recognition playing the part of Jimmy Brooks, appearing in 145 episodes in total.
Drake’s debut studio album, Thank Me Later, was released on the 15th of June 2010. The album topped the Billboard 200 in the US and fifteen in the UK.
The lead single, released on the 8th of March 2010 as a digital download, peaked at number fourteen in the US and fifty in the UK.
Since then Drake has become one of the world’s most popular entertainers and musically gone on to be one of the biggest-selling artists of all time with worldwide sales of over 200 million records.
He has many records for Billboard in the United States, including 186 charted songs, twenty-seven songs that simultaneously charted in a single week on the Hot 100, the most time on the chart at 431 weeks and twenty-two debuts on the chart in a week.
He also holds the record for the most chart-topping singles on the Hot Rap Songs, Hot R&B/Hip-Hop Airplay and Rhythmic Charts there.
To date, Drake’s Album releases are five studio. He has also released two EP’s, six Mixtapes, 112 singles, eight promotional singles and thirty-seven videos.
As a multi-award-winning recording artist, Drake has won many awards including three Grammys, five American Music, seven ASCAP Pop Music, forty-four ASCAP Rhythm & Soul Music, thirteen BET ( Black Entertainment Television ), fifteen Billboard Music and one Brit.

Scorpion Album Track Listing:

A Side
1. Survival
2. Nonstop
3. Elevate
4. Emotionless
5. God’s Plan
6. I’m Upset
7. 8 Out of 10
8. Mob Ties
9. Can’t Take a Joke
10. Sandra’s Rose
11. Talk Up ( featuring Jay-Z )
12. Is There More

B Side

1. Peak
2. Summer Games
3. Jaded
4. Nice for What
5. Finesse
6. Ratchet Happy Birthday
7. That’s How You Feel
8. Blue Tint
9. In My Feelings
10. Don’t Matter to Me ( with Michael Jackson )
11. After Dark ( featuring Static Major and Ty Dolla Sign )
12. Final Fantasy
13. March 14

Visit Pop Music Category for more Artists

Pop drakepoppop musicrandbrandb musicscorpionscorpion drake

Related Post

Permalink to Aquarium Album Aqua Pop Music
Aquarium Album Aqua Pop Music
Aquarium Album is by Aqua, the Danish-Norwegian pop band.
Permalink to Out of the Blue Album Debbie Gibson Pop Music
Out of the Blue Album Debbie Gibson Pop Music
Out of the Blue Album is by Debbie Gibson,
Permalink to Sucker Punch Album Sigrid Pop Music
Sucker Punch Album Sigrid Pop Music
Sucker Punch Album is by Sigrid, the Norwegian singer-songwriter.
Permalink to A Night At The Movies Album David Essex Pop Music
A Night At The Movies Album David Essex Pop Music
A Night At The Movies Album is by David

Leave a reply