The Best Of Buddy Holly Album Buddy Holly Rock and Roll


The Best Of Buddy Holly Album: 20th Century Masters (Millennium Collection) is by Buddy Holly. The album is a collection of twelve of his most famous songs, all of which have been remastered. It features classics like ” Peggy Sue ” and ” Not Fade Away “.
One of his most famous songs, ” That’ll Be The Day “, written by Buddy Holly and Jerry Allison. It was first recorded in 1956 by Buddy Holly and the Three Tunes and later in 1957 re-recorded by Buddy and his new band, the Crickets.
The song was a commercial success. In the United States, it reached Number One on the Billboard magazine’s Best Sellers in Stores Chart in 1957. It also reached number two on the R&B Singles Chart in the country.
In the United Kingdom ” That’ll Be The Day ” topped the UK Singles Chart, spending three weeks at Number One, it stayed on the UK chart for fifteen weeks.
The 1957 recording sold over one million copies and was later certified Gold by the Recording Industry Association of America ( RIAA ) in 1969. In 1998 the song was inducted into the Grammy Hall of Fame and in 2005 placed in the National Recording Registry, a list of sound recordings that ” are cultural, historical, or aesthetically important, and inform or reflect life in the United States “.
Buddy Holly only made three albums during his lifetime, Chirping Crickets, ( 1957 ), Buddy Holly and That’ll be the day ( 1958 ).
To date, there have been many releases and re-releases of his work, including three albums, twenty-eight compilations and twenty-six singles.

buy now button for amazon

This Album Is Also Available On iTunes

About Buddy Holly

Buddy Holly was an American musician and singer-songwriter. Buddy was born Charles Hardin Holley on the 7th of September 1936, in Lubbock, Texas, United States.
In his early years, he was exposed to music, most of his family played instruments or sang. As a young man, his musical influences were Hank Williams, Jimmie Rodgers, Hank Snow, Bob Wills, and the Carter Family.
In the 1950s, Buddy was a central figure of rock and roll. He styled his music on gospel, country and rhythm and blues.
After Buddy opened for Elvis Presley in 1955, he decided to pursue a music career. He went on to open for Elvis a further three times that year, with his band style changing from country and western to rock and roll.
Shortly after 1:00 am on the 3rd of February 1959, Buddy Holly, Ritchie Valens, The Big Bopper and pilot Roger Peterson were killed instantly when their plane crashed into a cornfield. The accident took place five miles northwest of the Mason City, Iowa airport, shortly after the plane left the runway.
The crash has become known as The Day the Music Died, after singer-songwriter Don McLean, referred to the event in the song ” American Pie “.

The Best Of Buddy Holly Album Track Listing:

1. That’ll Be The Day
2. Words Of Love (Single Version)
3. Peggy Sue (Single Version)
4. Everyday (Single Version)
5. Not Fade Away
6. Maybe Baby
7. Oh Boy!
8. It’s So Easy (Single Version)
9. Rave On
10. True Love Ways (Album Version)
11. Think It Over
12. It Doesn’t Matter Anymore (Single Version / Mono Version)

Visit Rock ‘ N ‘ Roll Music Category for more Artists

Rock and Roll 50s50s musicbest ofbuddy hollyrock and rollthe best of buddy holly

Related Post

Permalink to Bright Lights Album Showaddywaddy Rock and Roll Music
Bright Lights Album Showaddywaddy Rock and Roll Music
Bright Lights Album is by Showaddywaddy, the British rock

Leave a reply