Whitney Houston Album Whitney Houston Soul Music


Whitney Houston Album is by Whitney Houston. It released on the 14th of February 1985 by record label Arista ( Sony Music Entertainment ) and generated three Number Ones, ” Saving All My Love for You “, ” How Will I Know ” and ” Greatest Love of All “, which was originally recorded by George Benson in 1977.
The most successful single from the album was ” Saving All My Love for You “, released on the 13th of August 1985. Although not the lead single, it has become one of the most popular songs by Whitney.
It was released as the second single in the United States and third worldwide. In the United States, the song topped the Billboard Hot 100 Chart, giving Whitney her US Number One. It also reached number three on the Radio & Records CHR/Pop Airplay Chart and reached the top of both the Adult Contemporary and Hot R&B/Hip-Hop Songs charts. In 1986 the song was awarded a Grammy for Best Female Pop Vocal Performance.
The Whitney Houston album was a commercial success. In the United States, the album debuted at number 166 on the Billboard 200 Chart. At first sales were low, however with the success of the single ” You Give Good Love “, the album climbed the charts and finally reached Number One on Billboard Top R&B/Hip-Hop Albums Chart.
Thanks to consecutive hit singles and winning at the Grammys, eventually the Whitney Houston album reached the top the Billboard 200 Album Chart in March 1986, after taking some fifty-five weeks to do so.
Outside of the United States, the album was also a success. In the United Kingdom, it reached number two on the UK Albums Chart, spending 119 weeks on the chart there. It was certified 6× Platinum by the British Phonographic Industry( BPI ) for shipments of 1,800,000 units, making it the 5th best-selling album of 1986.
In Canada, the Whitney Houston album reached Number One on the Albums Chart, staying there for seventeen weeks. It became the most extended stay at the top by a female artist.
The Whitney Houston album was also the 1986’s top seller in Australia, remaining at the top of the Kent Music Report Albums Chart for eleven weeks, the longest by a female artist at the time. It became the first time an African American artist had a Number One album in the country.
The album topped the Albums Chart in Norway for ten weeks and Sweden for six weeks, number two in Germany, Switzerland, and number three in Austria and New Zealand.
Worldwide, it has sales of over 32 million copies, making it of the best-selling Albums in the 1980s.

About Whitney Houston

Whitney Houston was an American singer, actress, producer and model. Born on the 9th of August 1963 in Newark, New Jersey, Whitney had such crossover appeal that her music influenced future African American women artists, many have gone on to become some of the most significant stars of today.
She is the only artist to chart seven consecutive chart-topping Billboard Hot 100 songs in the United States. Whitney’s album releases were seven studio, six compilations, two soundtrack and five box sets. She also released six extended plays and fifty-seven singles.
As an actress, she made her screen acting debut as Rachel Marron in The Bodyguard, a 1992 romantic thriller co-starring Kevin Costner. She also appeared in other successful films and contributed to the soundtracks which included 1995 Waiting to Exhale and The Preacher’s Wife a year later. The soundtrack for The Preacher’s Wife became the best-selling gospel album in history.
Whitney is one of the best-selling music artists of all-time, with worldwide sales of over 200 million records. On the 11th of February 2012, Whitney died at the age of 48 in her guest room at the Beverly Hilton, in Beverly Hills, California.

Whitney Houston Track Listing:

1. You Give Good Love
2. Thinking About You
3. Someone For Me
4. Saving All My Love For You
5. Nobody Loves Me Like You Do
6. How Will I Know
7. All At Once
8. Take Good Care Of My Heart
9. Greatest Love Of All
10. Hold Me

Visit Soul Music Category for more Artists

Soul randbsoulsoul musicwhitneywhitney houston

Related Post

Permalink to Back to Black Album Amy Winehouse Soul Music
Back to Black Album Amy Winehouse Soul Music
  Back to Black Album is by Amy Winehouse.

Leave a reply